Nevada Universal Life Church

IN GOD WE TRUST!

Changing the world with One Random Act of Kindness at a time!

Today is

Home
Contact information
About the NV ULC
Weddings/Renew Vows
Wedding FAQ
Make A Donation
Price List
Sunday School
Affiliate with NV ULC
New Clergy Affiliation
Congregation Membership
Privacy Policy
10 Commandments
Dancing With God
In God We Trust

Copyright © 2005 - 2017
Nevada Universal Life Church, Inc.

Some items on this website are
Copyright © or owned by other
persons or companies and is being
used with their permission.

All rights reserved

No part of this website may be copied, or reproduced without written permission from the NV ULC Board of Directors, or the lawful owners of the copyrighted material displayed herein, unless specified on that information page.

Please feel free to link to us.

Web site hosting by Weicor, LLC
Web Master Rev. JD Weiss

Wedding FAQ

If you have a question you would like to see listed here, please contact the Pastor.

Nevada Marriage law is Chapter 122 of the Nevada Revised Statute (NRS)

    If any of these links or phone numbers stop working, please notify the webmaster.

* Who may marry in Nevada?
* Does Nevada require a blood test?
* Where do I get a Nevada marriage license?
* What should we bring for identification?
* What if I'm not 18?
* Am I married after I receive my license?
* What if I'm divorced?
* How do I get certified copies of my marriage application?
* What do I need to change my name with Social Security?
* Do we both have to be present to purchase a marriage license?
* Is a marriage license required to renew Vows?
* Does Nevada require a witness for the Marriage Ceremony?
* Nevada does not allow same sex marriage. What can we do?
* Does Nevada recognize Common Law marriage?



Who may marry in Nevada?

    A male and female person, at least 18 years of age, not nearer of kin than second cousins or cousins of the half blood, and not having a husband or wife living, may be joined in marriage. Both parties must appear at the Marriage License Bureau to obtain a license.

    Section 21 of the Constitution of the state of Nevada: "Only a marriage between a male and female person shall be recognized and given effect in this state."

Top of page


Does Nevada require a blood test?

    Blood tests are not required in Nevada, and there is no waiting period.

Top of page


Where do I get a Nevada marriage license?

    Nevada Marriage Bureau/County Clerk's Office

    Each county may have specific requirements and cost, so you need to check with the county where you plan to apply for your marriage license.

    Reno area

    Carson City, Nv - 775-887-2084, 24 hour marriage information hotline (775)887-2085, fax (775)887-2146
    Churchill County - Fallon, NV - 775-423-6028
    Douglas County - Minden/Gardnerville, Nv - 775-782-9020
    Lyon County - Yerington, NV - 775-463-6501
    Storey County - Virginia City, NV - 775-847-0969
    Washoe County - Reno, Nv - 775-328-3274 Fax: 775-328-3122
    Washoe County - Incline Village, Nv - 775-832-4166 Fax: 775-832-4161

    Other Nevada Counties

    Clark County Clerk Las Vegas, NV - 702.671.0580
    Elko County Recorder Elko, NV - 775.738.3044
    Esmeralda County Recorder Goldfield, NV - 775.485.6309
    Eureka County Recorder Eureka, NV - 775.237.5262
    Humboldt County Recorder Winnemucca, NV - 775.623.6343
    Lander County Clerk Battle Mountain, NV - 775.635.5738
    Lincoln County Recorder Pioche, NV - 775.962.5390
    Mineral County Clerk Hawthorne, NV - 775.945.2446
    Nye County Clerk Tonopah, NV - 775.482.8127
    Ormsby County Clerk Carson City, NV - 775.887.2084
    Pershinng County Clerk Lovelock, NV - 775.273.2208
    White Pine County Recorder Ely, NV - 775.289.2341

Top of page


What should we bring for identification?

    Each county may have specific requirements and cost, so you need to check with the county where you plan to apply for your marriage license. Before issuing a marriage license, the County Clerk shall require each applicant to provide proof of the applicant's name and age. Please bring identification to the marriage ceremony too. The County Clerk and Minister may accept as proof of the applicant's name and age an original or certified copy of any of the following:

    * A driver's license, instruction permit or identification card issued by this state or another state, the District of Columbia or any territory of the United States.
    * A passport.
    * A birth certificate and a secondary form of identification that contains the name of the applicant. If the birth certificate is written in a language other than English, the County Clerk may request that the birth certificate be translated into English and notarized.
    * Matricula Consular Card
    * A military identification card or military dependent identification card issued by any branch of the Armed Forces of the United States.
    * A Certificate of Citizenship, Certificate of Naturalization, Permanent Resident Card or Temporary Resident Card issued by the United States Citizenship and Immigration Services of the Department of Homeland Security.
    * Any other document that the county clerk determines provides proof of the applicant's name and age.

Top of page


What if I'm not 18?

    Persons at least 16 years of age but less than 18 years or age may marry only if the person has the consent of:

    * Either parent; or
    * Such person's legal guardian Persons signing as legal guardians must furnish a certified court order showing proof of full legal guardianship to the satisfaction of the Clerk. If the parent or legal guardian cannot be present, a consent form, written in English, stating the name, birth date, age of the minor child, relationship of the person giving consent, and name of prospective spouse; acknowledged before a Notary Public will be accepted. The notary portion of the consent form must state that the parent or guardian "personally appeared before" or that the document was "subscribed and sworn to before" the notary. A facsimile of the consent will be accepted. When a legal guardian is signing and sending a facsimile, a copy of the court order for full guardianship must be attached to the notarized consent. Under the provisions of NRS 122.025, a person less than 16 years of age may marry if either parent or legal guardian files an action, pays all court fees as provided by law, and presents a court order authorizing the Clerk to issue a license.

Top of page


Am I married after I receive my license?

    No. To be legally married, a marriage ceremony must be performed by any person authorized to perform a marriage in the State of Nevada.

    The Nevada Universal Life Church Clergy residing in Nevada are authorized by the state of Nevada and look forward to performing your wedding ceremony.

    A marriage license issued in the State of Nevada may be used anywhere within Nevada. If a Nevada license is used in any other state, the ceremony and the marriage are not legal. A marriage performed in Nevada with a Nevada license is a legal marriage.

Top of page


What if I'm divorced?

    You do not need to bring your divorce papers, however, if you have been divorced or your previous marriage has been annulled, the divorce or annulment must be final in the state where granted. You must know the year of the divorce or annulment and where the papers were filed.

Top of page


How do I get certified copies of my marriage application/certificate?

    You can obtain a true, legal certified copy of your marriage record (marriage certificate) from the County Recorder's Office where you filed it after paying the required fee.

Top of page


What do I need to change my name with Social Security?

    Social Security has passed new laws regarding name change requirements and you may be required to provide two documents to them evidencing your marriage in order to change your name. One of those documents is a copy of your Marriage License Application. The other is a copy of your Marriage Certificate, which will be recorded with the County Recorder. Contact the Social Security Administration for additional information and requirements.

Top of page


Do we both need to be present to purchase a marriage license?

    Yes, both parties must be present at the time their license is issued unless there are extenuating circumstances. Single signature licenses will only be issued with supervisor / management approval. If you feel you may qualify to be issued a single signature license, please contact the marriage license office prior to going in so they can discuss the specifics of your situation.

Top of page


Is a marriage license required to renew Vows?

    No, a marriage license is NOT required when you renew your vows. The clerk's office is prohibited by Nevada law from issuing a new Marriage License to couples currently married. You may renew your wedding vows at a church or wedding chapel, but they may require you to bring a copy of your Marriage Certificate for proof of marriage before performing the renewal ceremony.

    The Nevada Universal Life Church Clergy look forward to performing your Marriage Vow Renewal Ceremony, but we request you bring a certified copy or the original Marriage Certificate as proof of marriage before we perform your renewal ceremony.

Top of page


Does Nevada require a witness for the Marriage Ceremony?

    Yes. Only one (1) witness to the marriage ceremony is required by Nevada law.

    The Nevada Universal Life Church Clergy look forward to performing your Marriage Ceremony.

Top of page


Nevada does not allow same sex marriage. What can we do?

    This is true. The Nevada constitution does not allow same sex marriage. However, we can perform a "Life Partner" ceremony which isn't a marriage, but is a ceremony that allows you to express the feelings you have for each other.

Top of page


Does Nevada recognize Common Law marriage?

    Per NRS 122.010, there are no common-law marriages after March 29, 1943.

tumblr visit counter